Pooja Timings


  • The first deity here is Sri Pampa Ganapathy or Kanni Moola Ganapathy.
  • The Southwest corner of a temple is very special.
  • It is known as Kannimoola and is the place, which provides protection to the Temple.
  • The Ganapathi who resides in the Kannimoola corner of a temple
  • Kannimoola Ganapathy provides protection to the Temple.
  • He has the unique power
  • He is also a remover of obstacles (Vigneswara).
  • Devotees offer coconut.
  • Ganapathi homam is the main offering


Ayyappa is also commonly known as “Manikandan” because, according to the legend of his birth, his divine parents tied a golden bell (mani) around his neck (kandan) soon after his birth. As the legend goes, when Shiva and Mohini abandoned the baby on the banks of the Pampa river, King Rajashekhara, the childless monarch of Pandalam, found the newborn Ayyappa, accepted him as a divine gift, and adopted him as his own son.

  • Lord Ayyappa is believed to have laid down strict religious adherence to receive his blessings.
  • First, the devotees should observe a 41-day penance before visiting him in the temple.
  • They should maintain abstinence from physical pleasures and family ties and live like a brahmachari.


  • Maalikapurathamma is the goddess who was dedicated to Ayyappan.
  • Malikappurathamma is also called Manchambika and Mancha mathavu
  • Devi wished to marry him, But Ayyappa couldn’t accept her passion.
  • But he gave her a word that, he will marry her certainly,
  • if there is no Kanni Ayyappas at Sabarimala
  • Maalikapurathamma is visited after having darshan of Ayyappan.
  • The main rituals at Maalikappuram are Pattudayada, Pottu, Chandu,
  • Kanmashi, Vala and Bhagavati Seva.
  • The Devi at Malikappuram holds a Sankh, Chakram and Varada Abhya Mudras


  • Shani refers to the planet Saturn, and is one of the nine heavenly objects known as Navagraha in Hindu astrology.
  • He is a god of Justice in Hindu mythology and he gives benefits
  • to all, depending upon their deeds karma
  • His consort is goddess Manda.
  • Go to Shani Dev temple and offer blue flowers .
  • Then, chant Shani Mantra ‘Om Shan Shaneshrai Namah.
  • Take a copper utensil and fill water in it on Saturday morning.
  • Offer this water on a peepal tree and chant Shani Mantra.


  • Navagraha means “nine celestial bodies” in Sanskrit and are nine astronomical bodies as well as deities in Hinduism and Hindu astrology. These are the Sun, the Moon, Mars, Mercury, Jupiter, Venus, and Saturn, and the ascending and descending lunar nodes (which appears as Shadow Planets during Surya Grahan and Chandra Grahan).
  • Surya- Sun: Wheat for daan, Red colour, center facing East
  • Chandra- Moon: Rice for daan, White colour, South east facing of Sun
  • Guru-Jupiter: Indian Yellow Split Peas(Kabuli chana), Yellow color, Facing North
  • Budh- Mercury: Green Gram, Green Color, facing North East
  • Shukra-Venus: Soya Gram, white color, facing East
  • Mangal-Mars: Bengal Gram, Red color, facing South
  • Shani-Saturn: Mustard Seeds, blue color, facing West
  • Rahu- North Node: Black gram, Black color, facing South West
  • Ketu-South Node: Horse gram, Multi color, facing North West